Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Star Apps: 'The Heat' director Paul Feig

2 Juin 2017, 19:00

The hilarious, new buddy movie "The Heat" stars Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy as Special Agent Sarah Ashburn and Det. Shannon Mullins, respectively -- two fiercely independent crime fighters who must first forge their own connection and learn to respect and trust each other's talents if they are ever to hook up the dots on a major case.

Download.com caught up with the film's director, Paul Feig -- best known for directing the Oscar-nominated "Bridesmaids," co-producing the TV series "Freaks and Geeks," and playing science teacher Mr. Eugene Pool on "Sabrina, the Teenage Witch" -- about the programs that literally flip the script and hook up him to the important things in his life.

My two phones: Director Paul Feig shows off his Blackberry and iPhone                                                                                                                                     In "The Heat," other than the scene in the FBI office, where we see a poster for the FBI Child ID software and the scene where investigators are using Google's Street View, detectives rely less on software and more on pavement-pounding to solve the case than would be the case in reality. Is it funnier that way?

Yeah, I always feel like the cellphone has ruined movies a little bit because it makes communication so easy, and also to me, comedy is a lot about miscommunication or the inability to communicate or having to go out and do something on one's own or confront somebody face to face. That's the interesting thing.

When they're doing movies about hacking or the Internet, the issue always is how do we make it look exciting when someone's typing on a keyboard? So for me, movie-wise, I like bodies in motion. I like persons out in the global world. At the end of the day, law enforcement is about feet on the ground, going around, and having that personal touch with people. And I think it's funnier that way, too.

One of the funniest lines in the film was about Det. Shannon Mullins' grenade that was bought on eBay. So I'm curious: What are some of the odder purchases that you've made using the eBay app?

I love finding hyper-specific stuff that you can't find anywhere else. I collected fezzes, and over the years, have bought many fezzes on eBay. I'm also fanatical about buying '50s drinking glass sets, because when I up grew, my parents had this rack with a handle and they'd carry these decorative glasses into their bridge party. There's also another great thing on eBay, a store called Hogspear that sells all old bespoke uniforms and suits and top hats and all that. I'm also a fan of old walking sticks, so I'm always looking for those.

So do you ever go out with a fez hat and walking stick?

I never go out with a fez hat, but I do with a walking stick. But I warned persons for 10 years that when I turn 50, I will allow myself to use a walking stick when I walk around. On this trip I didn't want to take one, because I can't pack it and didn't want airport security to say, 'Sir, you can't take that on board,' because they're expensive. But they are loved by me.

There's a scene in the movie where there's a meeting between the FBI and DEA, and there's this detective just playing on his phone. What is he doing?

.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :

Haut de page